School Presidents make representation on behalf of students within their School. They help to support the Class Reps within their Schools and also chair the relevant Student Staff Consultative Committees.
Launched in 2010, School Presidents have become an institution in delivering feedback to the University and in enhancing the student learning experience. There are 21 School Presidents, covering the wide range of subjects taught at St Andrews. We have also introduced one Convener in Modern Languages for each language in 2015.
The School Presidents meet together with the Faculty Presidents and the Director of Education regularly at Education Committee meetings to address thematic concerns and issues that are identified in multiple subjects across the University. Twice in each semester, the School Presidents also meet with the Proctor, the Deans of Arts & Divinity and Science, and the Rector at the School Presidents' Forum. The two Faculty Presidents also sit on the SRC and the University's Academic Council.

Faculty Presidents 2019/20

Faculty Name Email (
Arts and Divinity Joe Horsnell artdivfp
Science and Medicine Chloe Fielding scimedfp



School Presidents 2019/20

School Presidents are elected every year in March by the students within that subject to represent them for the subsequent academic year.  This year, the School Presidents are:
School Name Email  
Art History Hannah Koegler arthistorypresident  
Biology Brynne Stewart biologypresident  
Chemistry Camiel Leake chemistrypresident  
Classics Erik Crnkovich classicspresident  
Computer Science Ryan Gibb compscipresident  
Divinity Lowell So divinitypresident  
Earth & Environmental Sciences Belinda Hawes earthscipresident  
Economics & Finance Sanjana Ramaswamy economicspresident  
English Callum Irvine englishpresident  
Film Studies Teo Yarkova filmpresident  

Geography & SD

Graduate School

Imaan Kotadia




History Geraint Morgan historypresident  
International Relations George Watts irpresident  
Management Jeanne Adam managementpresident  
Mathematics & Statistics

Murray Whyte

Medicine Orrin McAleer medicinepresident  

Modern Languages


Lucy Matthews

Ursula Goldsmith



Philosophy Rachel Neighbour philosophypresident  
Physics & Astronomy Sarah Johnston physicspresident  
Psychology & Neuroscience Lindsay Nielsen psychpresident  
Social Anthropology Elinor Layne socanthpresident