A group of students stand outside holding election banners.

Each year, the Students' Association Elections are held in Semester Two. All currently matriculated students are eligible to stand for election, including postgraduates. If you have any questions, contact SAelect@ or the current position holder.

The Students' Association Elections are overseen by the Elections Committee, consisting only of Students' Association and University Staff (no students); ultimate responsibility for the Elections lies with an external Returning Officer, who is appointed by the Association Board's Governance, Nominations, and Staffing Committee.

What's happening when?


  1. Nudge Tool and Pledge to Vote Forms Open

11 March

  1. 9am: Nominations Open

20 March

  1. 5pm: Nominations Close
  2. 8pm: Mandatory Meeting for Candidates

21 – 26 March

  1. Election Debates and Events

27 March

  1. Midnight: Voting Opens

28 March

  1. 6pm: Voting Closes
  2. 9pm: Results Announced

What positions are available?

There are around 60 elected positions within the Students' Association. These positions include the 6 full-time Sabbatical Officers, plus the members of the Student Representative Council (SRC), two Student Trustees, and all School Presidents and Language Convenors. Any matriculated student can stand for election and cast their vote when polls open.


Sabbs are students taking a year out from studying to work full-time at the Students' Association.

Association President

Leads the Association as the main spokesperson for students.

Athletic Union President

Represents and manages student sport.

Director of Education

Advocates for improvements to academics.

Director of Events and Services

Designs and implements events for students by students.

Director of Student Development and Activities

Supports co-curricular development opportunities for students.

Director of Wellbeing and Equality

Champions student health, diversity, and inclusion.

Student Representative Council

SRC subcommittees and council members represent the whole student community.

Accommodation Officer

Liaises to improve private & uni accommodation options.

Alumni Officer

Connects alumni and students, enhancing professional development.

Arts and Divinity Faculty President

Directs School Presidents' efforts and serves on high level committees.

Association Chair

Convenes and administers internal Union Committees & Council.

BAME Officer

Speaks for BAME students and leads the BAME Network.

Charities Officer

Runs the annual Charities Campaign.

Community Relations Officer

Connects the local community and Students' Association.

Disability Officer

Represents disabled students' needs and experiences.

Employability Officer

Enhances students' career outcomes.

Environment Officer

Coordinates environmental and sustainbility initiatives.

Gender Equality Officer

Ensures inclusivity for all genders.

International Students' Officer

Speaks on behalf of international students.

LGBT+ Officer

President of Saints LGBT+, organising policy and creating community.

Lifelong and Flexible Learners Officer

Supports non-traditional students' experiences.

Postgraduate Academic Convenor

Chairs the Postgraduate Representation System.

Postgraduate Activities Officer

Creates events and community for Postgraduates.

Postgraduate Development Officer

Enhances co-curricular opportunities for Postgraduates.

Science and Medicine Faculty President

Directs School Presidents' efforts and serves on high level committees.

Secretary to the SRC

Maintains social media channels and assists with projects.

Societies Officer

Helps societies with affiliation, grants, and elections.

Student Health Officer

Voices student health concerns to the Uni and Union.

Widening Access and Participation Officer

Promotes initiatives related to affordability and resources.

Other positions

Student Trustees

Two people who govern the Students' Association Board (the registered charity).

School Presidents

Leads Class Reps to create change and community in Schools.

Language Convenors

Coordinates Class Reps in each Modern Language Department.