Our elected student officers are divided into two councils:

  • Students' Representative Council (SRC) is responsible for ensuring the student voice is heard on areas such as equality, academics, and wellbeing. Since 1889, it has been the legally recognised body for student representation at the University of St Andrews.
  • Students' Services Council (SSC) is responsible for leading activities and events, including Mermaids theatre, Union Debating Society, and STAR: St Andrews Radio.

Together, the SRC and SSC form the Joint Council (JC). The remits of some positions, such as the Alumni and LGBT+ officers, extend into both representation and activities, so these positions sit on the JC along with the sabbs.

Follow Councils on Facebook and Instagram.

All meetings take place in the Union's Large Rehearsal Room (on the top floor), unless otherwise stated. However due to COVID-19 Restrictions, meetings of Association Councils in Semester 1 will take place over MS Teams. All of our meetings will continue to be open to all students, and the link to join the meeting will be posted in the event created on our Facebook page. This will be reviewed at the end of Semester 1 to determine how meetings will be held in Semester 2.

Date and Time Council
Tuesday 15th September 2020, 6pm Joint Councils
Tuesday 22nd September 2020, 7pm Executive Committee
Tuesday 29th September 2020, 6pm SSC
Tuesday 6th October 2020, 6pm SRC
Tuesday 13th October 2020, 5pm Executive Committee
Tuesday 13th October 2020, 6pm Joint Councils
Tuesday 27th October 2020, 6pm SSC
Tuesday 3rd November 2020, 6pm SRC
Tuesday 10th November 2020, 6pm SSC
Tuesday 17th November 2020, 5pm Executive Committee
Tuesday 17th November 2020, 6pm Joint Councils
Tuesday 26th January 2021, 5pm Executive Committee
Tuesday 26th January 2021, 6pm Joint Councils
Tuesday 2nd February 2021, 6pm SRC
Tuesday 9th February 2021, 6pm SSC
Tuesday 16th February 2021, 5pm Executive Committee
Tuesday 23rd February 2021, 6pm Joint Councils
Tuesday 6th April 2021, 6pm Joint Councils and Carve-ups
Tuesday 13th April 2021, 6pm SSC
Tuesday 20th April 2021, 5pm Executive Committee
Tuesday 20th April 2021, 6pm Joint Councils

All matriculated students are entitled to attend the beginning of any councils meeting. Each meeting will include an open forum section. During the open forum, any student may speak to councils, whether to raise issues they feel councils should be addressing, or to give their opinion on motions.

If there's an issue you think the Students' Association should address, support, or denounce, you can submit a motion. If approved, motions can force the Association to take action, sending a clear message that students are united on a particular topic.

  1. Write your motion. See the how-to, and past examples.
  2. Collect signatures and matriculation numbers from 25 students. Full names are not necessary, and you count as one of the 25.
  3. Send your motion and list of signatures/matriculation numbers to the Association Chair (sachair@). They will let you know when your motion is due to be discussed in a meeting.
  4. Attend the meeting. You can introduce your motion, and engage in the debate. If this sounds scary, any of our current officers may be willing to introduce the motion on your behalf.


The JC nominates 3 members from both the SRC and SSC to join the sabbs and Association Chair on the Executive Committee. This group is responsible for general management of all councils, and for conferring Honorary Lifetime Memberships and the John Honey Award.

Name Committee position
Dan Marshall Association President
Amy Gallacher Director of Education
Emma Rose Walsh Director of Wellbeing
Tom Groves Director of Events & Services
Gavin Sandford Director of Student Development & Activities
Sophie Tyler Athletic Union President
Morgan Morris Association Chair
Joe Horsnell SRC Senior Officer
Elise Lenzi SRC Secondary Nominee
Maitreyi Tusharika SRC Tertiary Nominee
Avery Kitchens SSC Senior Officer
Sam Ross SSC Secondary Nominee
Zaine Mansuralli SSC Tertiary Nominee


councils structure