

University of St Andrews Students' Association Executive Committee

MINUTES

Wednesday 1 May 2013 - Committee Room - 4.00pm

Present

Maxwell Baldi Amanda Litherland Margaret Platt Freddie fforde Callum Byrce Hibak Mohamud Yusuf David Patterson Courtney Lewis

Association Chair Association Director of Representation Association Director of Student Development and Activities Association President SRC Deputy Senior Officer SRC Senior Officer SSC Deputy Senior Officer SSC Senior Officer

1. Adoption of the Agenda

The agenda was adopted without dissent.

2. Apologies for Absence

Julian Findlay Association Director of Events and Services

3. Adoption of the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There were no minutes of the previous meeting.

4. Matters Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There were no minutes of the previous meeting.

5. Unfinished General Business

6. New General Business

6.1. Arbitration of SRC-SSC Dispute on Hill Amendment to J. 6 – Motion to Introduce Association Projects

Mr Patterson opined that Association Projects should recur to ensure continuity and longevity of those endeavours into which the Association invests time and resources.

Mr fforde opined that the Committee should not spend a significant amount of time discussing the Hill Amendment when the framework is so new. He argued that the Committee should reject the amendment and allow the framework time to develop.

Mr Bryce poised a parliamentary inquiry as to the impact of concurring in the amendment. The Chair stated that concurring in the amendment would result in the relevant language being struck before the proposed chapter of the Laws is presented to SAB for ratification.

The question was called on concurring in the Hill Amendment. An objection having been noted, a roll call was ordered:

OFFICE	NAME	AYE	NO	ABS.
Association Director of Events & Services	Julian Findlay			
Association Director of Representation	Amanda Litherland	Рху		
Association Director of Student Development & Activities	Meg Platt	Х		
Association President	Freddie fforde		Х	
SRC Deputy Senior Officer	Callum Bryce	Х		
SRC Senior Officer	Hibak Yusuf Mohamud		Х	
SSC Deputy Senior Officer	David Patterson		Х	
SSC Senior Officer	Courtney Lewis		Х	

With 3 members in the affirmative and 4 in the negative, the Committee did not concur in the Hill Amendment.

6.2. Ratification of J. 7 on behalf of SRC – Motion to Reform the Mermaids Committee

The Committee ratified the motion on behalf of SRC without dissent.

6.3. Consideration of Nominations for Honorary Life Memberships

The Committee resolved without dissent to adjourn in camera.

The Committee considered 127 nominations for Honorary Life Memberships and awarded Honorary Life Memberships to the following individuals:

- Ben Adams
- Joanna Aithie
- Samantha Anderson
- Campbell Anderson
- Danielle Berrow
- Katarina Birkedal
- Hellen Bowler
- Gemma Bradbury
- Fiona Burslem
- Kerry Campbell
- Siobhán Cannon-Brownlie
- Ryan Cant
- Ines Cardoso
- Alexander Co
- Alistair Cobbold
- Bennett Collins
- Jonathan Cope
- Lydia Cruz
- Robert Davidson
- Duncan Downie
- Radim Dragomaca

- Emma Edwards
- Eleanor Feltham
- Freddie fforde
- Angus Field
- Julian Findlay
- Joseph Fleming
- Timothy Foley
- Pamela Forbes
- Daniel Franklin
- Sophie Franklin
- Freya Gabbutt
- Sophie Geoghegan
- Elena Georgalla
- Linda Gibson
- Oliver Girdham
- Alastair Grant
- Emily Griffiths
- Hillevi Gustafson
- Desre' Hancocks
- Guy Hartley
- Daniel Hoffman Goldblatt

- Ivan Kisyov
- Lukasz Krol
- Simon Lamb
- Sam Lipworth
- Amanda Litherland
- Pei Liu
- Abigail Lovell
- Brendan Macdonald
- Michael MacFarlane
- Kirstie Macmillan
- Tobias Marsh
- Brittney Martin
- Shawn McKelvie
- William Melton
- Emmanuel Michelakakis
- Lisa Anne Millar
- Professor Lorna Milne
- Andrew Muir
- Shevantika Nanda
- Elspeth Parsons
- Calum Patrick
- Holly Patrick
- Alicia Pawluk

- Catherine Phelps
- Margaret Platt
- Claire Rampen
- Jonathan Ramsay
- Rohit Rao
- Andrew Ratomski
- Kate Reid
- Timothy Reveri
- Peter Ricca
- Graham Richardson
- Victoria Robertson
- Harshad Sambamurthy
- Kate Schofield
- Chang Shi
- James Smith
- James Smith
- Henry Stanislaw
- Geordie Stewart
- Robert Sturrock
- Michael Taylor
- Alexandra Thornton-Reid
- Adelaide Waldrop
- Bethany Wellerd

The Committee resolved without dissent to adjourn ex camera.

7. Any Other Competent Business

There was no other competent businesses.

Adjournment

The Committee adjourned at 1924 hours.