

University of St Andrews Students' Association Executive Committee

MINUTES

Tuesday 18th Sep 18 – Large Rehearsal Room – 8pm

Present

Member's Name	Position	
Sneha Nair	Association Chair	
Alice Foulis	Association Director of Education	
Adam Powrie	Association Director of Events and Services	
Jamie Minns	Association Director of Student Development and Activities	
Paloma Paige	Association President	
Morgan Morris	SRC Secondary Nominee	
Sarah Ramage	SRC Senior Officer	
Lauren Davis	SRC Tertiary Nominee	
Matthew Singer	SSC Secondary Nominee	
Kevin Phelan	SSC Senior Officer	
Niamh McGurk	SSC Tertiary Nominee	

In Attendance

Iain Cupples Student Advocate (Education)/HR Manager

1. Adoption of the Agenda

The agenda was adopted without dissent.

2. Apologies for Absence

Member's Name	Position	Reason
Fiona Murray	Athletic Union President	

The apologies were accepted without dissent.

3. Design team motion

The motion was passed without dissent.

4. John Honey Award

DRAFT ONLY

Nick explained that the John Honey Award had not been awarded in the previous year due to a lack of nominations. It was not an award that had to be made every year, but Nick had felt that the lack of nominations on this occasion had not been due to a lack of deserving candidates. Accordingly, he had decided to reopen nominations and subsequently multiple nominations had been received.

Criteria for the award were discussed. It was noted to members that, due to the status of the award, they could decide that none of these nominations met the criteria, in which case no award would be made. The committee agreed to discuss the individual awards *in camera*, to preserve the privacy of the nominees and to allow frank and open discussion.

Following this discussion, Sarah Rodway-Swanson was awarded the John Honey Award, on the basis of the number and strength of nominations received detailing her sustained contribution to student wellbeing over the course of her time at St Andrews, over and above the requirements of the various roles she had held.

The executive agreed there was a need to promote the John Honey Award more widely, and treat it as a high status award recognising exceptional contributions by students.