Students' Representative Council


What does the SRC do for you?


The SRC, short for Students' Representative Council, is your student voice. It is the legally-recognised body for student representation at the University of St Andrews since 1889.

The SRC currently has 27 members who are elected in Semester two each year. The functions of the SRC are devolved into seven different subcommittees which meet regularly:

The SRC meets at least five times a year  in order to discuss issues important to students. SRC members can put forward motions which are usually inspired by change that the members and students want to see happen at the University. The SRC has passed a number motions in its long history that have had a direct impact on the student body, including the motion to campaign against £9k tuition fees, the Kenly Wind Farm campaign, the creation of the student accommodation survey, the zero tolerance policy against harassment and discrimination, and much more.

The SRC has the power to lobby the University to make change in a number of different ways, including providing more money for student activities, taking a public stance on a particular political or ethical issue, or improving the teaching experience. All of these actions begin in the SRC.

Make sure to check out the Get Involved tab to find out more information about the Open Forum, Student Petition, and initiating change through the SRC.

If you want to learn more about the SRC and its role, please get in touch with the Association Chair ( Additionally for information on proceedings you can view the simplified Councils rules.


SRC Agenda


There are no upcoming meetings of the SRC. We will update this section in semester one, 2017 - 2018.


Your Officers

You can read final reports from 2016/2017 members of
the SRC and SSC here.


In 2017 - 2018, the members of the Students' Representative Council are:


Position Name Email (                
 Association President Charlotte Andrew  pres
 Director of Events and Services Taryn O'Connor doserv
 Director of Representation Jack Carr dorep
 Director of Student Development and Activities                     Caroline Christie  dosda
 Athletic Union President Ben Peddie
 Association Chair Ru Maciver sachair 
 Arts & Divinity Faculty President Sally Allmark artdivfp
 Science & Medicine Faculty President Louise McCaul scimedfp
 Postgraduate Academic Convenor Euan Grant pgconvenor
 Postgraduate Development Officer Mizuki Morisaki pgdevo
 Association Alumni Officer Sam Ross saalumni
 Association Community Relations Officer     Hannah Raleigh comrels
 Association Environment Officer Clare Grist eande
 Association LGBT Officer Ryan Hay saintslgbt
 Accommodation Officer Jonathan Davis srcaccommodation
 Member for First Years Hyewon Han hh55
 Member for Gender Equality Brianna Chu bhhc
 Member for Age Equality Lorraine Callaghan      lrc4
 Member for Racial Equality Sarah Bourial sb280
 Member for Students with Disabilities Anna Lloyd al235
 Member for Widening Access & Participation Ciara McCumiskey   cm342
 Principal Ambassador Emma Seckel princamb
 Member without Portfolio Olivia Budde oceb
 Rector's Assessor Dylan Bruce  db84