Get Involved!



The University of St Andrews Students' Association has a strong and vibrant record of student democracy. We are the only UK students' union to have exceeded over 50% turnout in our elections.

All St Andrews students are eligible to stand for election! Are you passionate about representation? Stand for a position on the SRC! Enjoy extracurriculars? Run to join the SSC! Do you love academics? Be a School President!

If you think someone would do a fabulous job, why not tell them? Nudge them to run here!

To stand for a postion, you can nominate yourself through the Elections Portal between Monday 24th February 9am and Friday 28th February 5pm.



We have recently been made aware of issues related to political Facebook ads. Without having the proper authorisation, you may risk having any paid ads removed from Facebook if it is identified as being political or linked to social issues. We recommend that any candidates planning on using paid ads during their campaign, read the following information provided by Facebook:

If you choose to use Facebook ads during your campaign, you do so at your own risk and the elections committee cannot take any action for any ads which are blocked and any money lost due to this. Elections committee is investigating suitable solutions for future elections. 



Check out the positions avaliable in the 2019 elections, and their role descriptions.

Watch these videos from the 2016 elections to see what candidates get up to during the campaign week!

Sabbatical Question Time
Sabbatical Debate

Important Dates

Nominations Open 24th February, 9am Online
Sabb candidates meeting w/ the Proctor 27th February, 12 noon Committee room
Nominations Close 28th February, 5pm  
Sabbatical Candidates' Meeting 28th February, 5:30pm Sandy's Bar
All Candidates' Meeting 29th February, 12 noon Beacon Bar
Campaigning Starts 29th February, 1pm  
SRC & SSC Hustings 1st - 3rd March, 12 noon - 10pm Beacon Bar
Sabbatical Candidates' Question Time 2nd March, 7.30pm The StAge
Athletic Union President Hustings 3rd March, 5:30pm The StAge
Sabbatical Candidates' Debate 3rd March, 7:30pm The StAge
Polls Open 5th March, 0:01am Online
Polls Close 6th March, 6pm  
School President Results 6th March, 8pm The StAge
All Other Results 6th March, 8:30pm The StAge

Casting A Vote

Casting a vote is simple, on the 5th March at 00:01am when voting opens, all you have to do is click this link. Then login with your St Andrews username and password.

Click on the election under the voting open section:


If you have trouble voting please email and they will help you figure out what the issue is. Occasiaonlly there are minor IT issues, but don't worry, we will get them solved so you can have your say!

Before you cast your vote you should familiarize yourself with the positions read a bit about the SRC and SSC as well as the School Presidents. If you are really interested you can read past SRCSSC, and School President minutes and reports to see what they have done so far this year. We recommend reading the role descriptions as well to fully understand the responsibilities of the roles you are about to elect people to.



Cast your ballot here! Voting is open until 6pm on Friday 6th! View all the races, all the candidates, and all the sabb manifestos here!

Contact Details

If you have any questions, you can email the Elections Committee at

Make sure to follow @saelect on Twitter and like the official Facebook page for up to date information on the elections.