Proctor's Award

To nominate a student for the Proctor's Award for commitment in enhancing
learning and teaching at the University of St Andrews please send the completed nomination form to

Each valid nomination requires a joint student and staff nomination.

Nominations for the 2019/20 Proctor's Award are now open and will close on Monday 2nd March!


In collaboration with the University, the Students' Association has established the Proctor's Award to recognise amazing commitment by students in enhancing learning and teaching at the University of St Andrews. The Proctor's Award will appear on a student's HEAR (Higher Education Achievements Report) alongside other University prizes. Nominations for the Proctor's Award require both a student and staff nominator.


Previous winners


2018/19: Sophia Rommel


Sophia was awarded the Proctor's Award for her incredible achievements as School President of Philosophy. The panel were impressed by her efforts to ensure everyone in her department has a voice and her hard work in furthering community. Sophia's tireless commitment to interdisciplinary events, her creativity and professionalism, her work on the Equality and Diversity committee, and her overall commitment to her department were also highlighted. Sophia was recognised as an enthusiastic member of the Education Committee team, and has always gone above and beyond her School President remit. 

2017/18: Ellen White


Ellen was awarded the Proctor's Award for her outstanding contribution to the role of School President of English. The panel were impressed by her endeavours representing the School's undergraduate and postgraduate communities, in addition to having demonstrated exceptional commitment to providing support for others by working to expand provisions for student study space in the School. Finally, the panel commended Ellen for her enthusiastic contribution as a member of the team which organised interdisciplinary careers events. 


2016/17: Ruaraidh Maciver

Ruaraidh received the Proctor's Award for his commitment to the role of School President of Classics. The judging panel were impressed by his efforts to change the School's extension  policy and for supporting the social community by helping to organise the first History and Classics Ball.

2015/16: Eleanor Mullin

Eleanor has been a Class Rep, the School President of Philosophy and the Faculty President of Arts and Divinity. Her nominators wrote that she "had been a rock" and a leader for the School Presidents in the last year. She has gone above and beyond her call of duty as an academic representative and, for this reason, she has been awarded the Proctor's Award.

2014/15: Martin Eide

Martin was awarded the Proctor's Award for his exceptional commitment as a Class Rep in both International Relations and Modern Languages. The judging panel was particularly impressed with Martin’s very diplomatic yet forceful efforts as Persian Class Rep in helping to secure Persian as an Honours discipline, and his efforts to promote employability over the past year in his role as Class Rep in the School of International Relations. Martin Eide - Proctor's Award Winner 2015

2013/14: Maxwell Fabiszewski

Maxwell received the Proctor's Award for his exceptional commitment to duties as School President in Classics, as a member of the SRC Education Committee, and as an active, engaged student who has done much to further the educational experience of others. His work as a volunteer teaching assistant in Latin was particularly praised, as were the revision classes he set up, and his assistance in the Classics Library. His colleagues and tutors appreciate the frank but diplomatic and conscientious way in which he represents other students’ concerns as well as his good humour.