The Societies Committee supports the many and diverse affiliated societies. The Committee consists of 15 members who manage administration for all 150+ societies. This includes:

  • Managing affiliation and reaffiliation
  • Organising society training
  • Providing financial assistance through grants and loans
  • Supporting elections at Annual General Meetings (AGMs) and Extraordinary General Meetings (EGMs)
  • Promoting society events and activities
  • Holding society office hours
  • Providing advice and support

Committee 2020-21

Position Name Email
SAF Societies Officer Laura Connies-Laing socs@
DoSDA Gavin Sandford DoSDA@

Grants Officer

Grants Adviser

Rhea Soni

Alasdair Richmond


Elections Officer

Elections Adviser

Naomi Harilela

Joel Butcher


Affiliations Officer

Affiliations Adviser

Nina Engelbrecht

Georgie Ward

Publicity Officer Tia Sosrodjojo SocPublicity@
Charitable Societies Liaison Rory McNeight CharitySocs@
Secretary Capri Mancini
SRC Carve-Up Sarah Johnston Member for Widening Access and Participation
SRC Carve-Up Sophie Craig Member without Portfolio
SAF Carve-Up Julia Swerdlow Member without Portfolio
SAF Carve-Up Amy Feakes Charities Officer

The Societies Committee has weekly Office Hours (Mondays 4-6pm on Teams) to address society concerns one-to-one. The Societies Officer, Affiliations Officer, and Grants Officer will be present every week to work with your society. To book a slot email

You can find the Societies Committee on Facebook.