The John Honey Award is one of the most prestigious awards given by the Students' Association.

The Award is given in memory of John Honey (1781-1813), a student who bravely rescued five seamen from their wrecked ship during a storm in 1800. Students commemorate his life every year with a torchlit procession down the Pier, known as the Gaudie.

The John Honey Award is given to one student every year who makes an outstanding and exceptional contribution to student wellbeing during their time at St Andrews. Whilst this does not have to necessarily mean saving someone's life, the award will only be given out to a student who makes an extraordinary contribution to student wellbeing.

Anyone can nominate a matriculated student for the John Honey Award. The winner of the award will be decided by the Executive Committee, and announced at the Give Back Awards on the 28th of April. The award will appear on the recipient's HEAR transcipt. For more information email the Director of Wellbeing at DoWell@.

To nominate a student email DoWell@ with the students' name, matriculation number, email, and a 450 word statement on why they deserve the award. We request that nominations be submitted in the form of an attached word document, and the email have the subject line 'John Honey 2020'. The deadline is typically mid-April.

Previous recipients

Year Recipient
2019 Heather Farley, Daniel Johnstone
2018 Sarah Rodway-Swanson
2017 Joe Revell
2016 Ondrej Hajda
2015 Upile Mtitimila
2011 Susana Kolb
2010 Claire Thomson
2009 [Unknown]
2008 David Strachan
2007* Elizabeth Irvine
2006* [Unknown]
2005* Ralph Covino
2004* Arabella Grinstead
2003* Phil Reid
2002* Ross Nutter, Chris Ferrante, James Parkinson

* Awarded for 'selfless service to students of the University of St Andrews'.